How to Unfollow Artists in Apple Music

How to Unfollow Artists in Apple Music

Apple Music's social networking feature Connect lets you follow your favorite musicians. They share things such as behind-the-scenes photos, lyrics they're working on, a new video, and whatever else interests them. When you add songs to your music library, by default the artists are automatically added in Connect. But you may not want to follow some of these artists. In my case, for example, I added Beethoven, but it seems unlikely he'll be sharing anything. You can change the default so that artists aren't automatically added. Doing so will remove all those automatically added. Or you can unfollow selected artists that were added by default. And you can add new artists to your list of those you're following.

To change the default setting or to change the artists you're following, in Apple Music tap on Connect and then "See who you're following."

Master your iPhone in one minute a day:

Sign up to iPhone Life's Tip of the Day Newsletter and we'll send you a tip each day to save time and get the most out of your iPhone or iPad.

In this window you can turn off the setting that automatically follows artists when you add their songs to your music library. Or you can unfollow selected artists.

In addition, you can find new artists you'd like to follow by tapping Find More Artists and Curators. This brings up a list of artists and curators recommended by the Apple Music app. Tap those you'd like to follow.

  

Master your iPhone in one minute a day: Sign up here to get our FREE Tip of the Day delivered right to your inbox.

Jim Karpen holds a Ph.D. in literature and writing, and has a love of gizmos. His doctoral dissertation focused on the revolutionary consequences of digital technologies and anticipated some of the developments taking place in the industry today. Jim has been writing about the Internet and technology since 1994 and has been using Apple's visionary products for decades.